Beam Me Up Major Tom

Last Saturday, I asked the universe for tickets to the moon.

Saturdays have become my “weepy days” these past few weeks. Aside from allowing myself to wake up any hour I pleased and spend doing stuff weekdays prohibit me from doing, my Saturdays have been bookmarked for giving in to sentimentality. But no weeping happened to me this last Saturday, just a fixation for the moon.

This was after I stumbled upon the new album Le Voyage Dans La Lune of  French electronica duo, Air (which is actually an acronym for Amour, Imagination, Rêve) .  The album was inspired by George Melies’s A Trip To The Moon (1902) the first science fiction film ever made. Because, basically, the duo was asked to make a score for the restored colour version of the film! And this happened 15 years after they came out with Moon Safari. Serendipitous, really.

I’ve always thought of Melies as true magician, being the inventor of film effects such as time-lapse, dissolves, and stop-tricks. Well, guess what? He did practice a little bit of magic. Fascinating.

And then I also went a little nostalgic because it all reminded me of  Smashing Pumpkin’s ‘Tonight, Tonight’.

I kind of grew fixated with the idea of travelling to outerspace then that day.

And now, it  is Monday. But I still can’t get over flying away.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Beam Me Up Major Tom

  1. […] Earlier this year I wrote an entry about my fixation for the moon. Okay, maybe I have had some other entries about the moon because I do go crazy about it every month. But just to distinguish from other entries it’s the one that talks about AIR’s album and George Melies’s films La Voyage Dans La Lune. […]

Leave a Reply

