Cosmic and Magical, Movies and La Lune

Earlier this year I wrote an entry about my fixation for the moon. Okay, maybe I have had some other entries about the moon because I do go crazy about it every month. But just to distinguish from other entries it’s the one that talks about AIR’s album and George Melies’s films La Voyage Dans La Lune.

That was in February.

Today I just watched Martin Scorsese’s Hugo.

And I am no less than delighted in the superlative sense.

I don’t know why it took so long for me to actually see this film. I deserve a whack on the head for that. It brings together a lot of the things I love: Scorsese of course, the strange mix of superb actors (Ben Kingsley, Sacha Baron Cohen,  Chloe Grace Moretz, Asa Butterfield,  Helen McCrory, and Jude Law), Brian Selznick being the author of the book The Invention of Hugo Cabret – also a wonderful read – which the movie is based on, and then the most touching story about George Melies as a filmmaker. It is historical fiction, yes, almost a sort of fantastical one and that’s what’s so charming about it.

I don’t know why I’m pushed to write about this. I don’t usually do this – write reviews or gather my thoughts about a specific film in a narrative sense, except for those very particularly moving ones.

And Bob’s your uncle.

I’ve always been fascinated about Melies and his work technically because he is a pioneer in the use of special effects in moviemaking. But I think I am drawn to him more because of the idea that he sort of employed magic in the way he made his films during the time that it was made. The way cinema has evolved and continues to evolve in this day and age pushing the boundaries of delight for all of the senses of those who watch we owe to the man who started to tell the story about rockets landing on celestial bodies. And Scorsese just sort of pulled another bunny out of the hat. It’s an old trick but, really, tell me who is never delighted by it?

It’s a sort of cosmic charm that makes me fall in love with this every time. The movies, I mean. Sometimes the universe gives you the perfect story to let the moment elide itself into. It leaves you wondering how the hell the perfect story lands on your lap exactly when you need it to.

I have to thank a friend who told me I should watch this film. He knew I would be delighted. Superlatively so.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

